Italian Plate (s)

By: Ruth

Apr 13 2011

Tags: , , , ,

Category: Photograph

7 Comments

Aperture:f/2.8
Focal Length:3.85mm
ISO:250
Shutter:1/16 sec
Camera:iPhone 4

Found this in the china cabinet.  There are three of these.  A friend of my mother gave these to me when I got married in 1974.  Today was a good day for declutter.  I shipped the squirrel family to Shelby in North Carolina and the quilt stars are on their way to Carol in Florida.  Matty wrote a few comments from Croatia and I will save the two ceramic transportation plates for him. I bought those really thick contractor’s garbage bags to haul out some accumulated paper. Also, if you put a bag on the front porch the Vietnam Veteran’s  truck will come and pick it up.

7 comments on “Italian Plate (s)”

  1. Careful: We found out negative things about the guy running the “Vietnam Vets” business in Orlando. Stopped giving items to them….profits were going into the wrong pockets. I give to an Orlando Rescue that I double checked where items were going and whether people were given (with vouchers) the items they needed if they could not afford to buy the item(s). Salvation Army and Goodwill are two others that have good reps; and of course,
    MOST of the churches. 🙂

    • Oh dear. That is so upsetting. I never distrusted the charity. Thanks for the warning. How awful.
      I liked that they came and picked up.

  2. Personally, I would find it difficult to part with this plate. On the other hand, if you don’t really like it or need it – it’s time to say goodbye!
    Well done on having such a productive day.

  3. Get a plate hanger and hang one! They really are lovely on the wall! Sell or donate the other two or find a friend who likes that stuff and give them to her/him.

  4. Use it! Or what happens in Kitsilano (Vancouver) is that people simply put things on their front lawn or sitting next to the recycling in a lane and someone who loves it picks it up! We have collected (and disposed of) incredible things this way!

    Your blog is awesome, I am glad that I saw it on the homepage …that squirrel caught my eye!

    Check out my blogs at onthetableatnandostan.wordpress.com and livingwitheasy.wordpress.com

  5. I think this plate is actually very cool! My vote would be to keep it (and I NEVER say “keep it”!). 🙂


Leave a Reply

