Wrinkled Placemat-Wyoming 1963

By: Ruth

May 06 2011

Tags: , , , ,

Category: Uncategorized

6 Comments

Aperture:f/2.8
Focal Length:3.85mm
ISO:500
Shutter:1/14 sec
Camera:iPhone 4

Yes, I am in the desk drawers now and this was folded up inside of a composition book.  I went to Colorado and Wyoming the summer of 1963 to stay with my Godmother for a month.  The address on the bottom of this does not even have a zip code.  

6 comments on “Wrinkled Placemat-Wyoming 1963”

  1. Must have seemed important at the time 🙂

  2. Hmmm, I could see that pressed out with a warm iron, mounted and framed. The yellow border is pretty and the map is quaint and definitely has vintage quality.

    If it was mine, I’d frame it. Nothing expensive, but it’s a great memento!

  3. This is the same problem I have. All of this stuff belongs in a museum somewhere so people remember the times when there were no zip codes. I try to remind myself that I am not the curator for the human race. But it’s so hard to chuck these cool little artifacts that don’t take up much space and have a neat history. Good luck with that desk. The paper is so much harder for me than the squirrels and teapots!

    • Carla, I LOVED your comment, “I try to remind myself that I am not the curator for the human race.” SO TRUE! I need constant reminders of this one…. (I curate less ‘stuff’, but more ‘ideas’ [i.e., writing].) Thank you for this insightful, helpful comment.

  4. i think this is so neat, you have such great memories, no wonder you need help! however, i keep everything, so frame it!


Leave a Reply

