Drinks of Hawaii 1971 Recipe Book

By: Ruth

Jul 07 2011

Tags: , , , , ,

Category: Photograph

2 Comments

Aperture:f/2.4
Focal Length:3.85mm
ISO:800
Shutter:1/23 sec
Camera:iPod touch

What kind of drink is a Suffering Bastard?  An Ulcer Cocktail?  I think I bought this used book to try to find a recipe for a Lava Flow from Duke’s in Waikiki Beach. I was planning the rehearsal dinner 2002, Hawaiian Theme at the house as Mark and Erika met in Hawaii.  It was a great party but no Lava Flows….a strawberry, coconutty drink that was like a dessert when we visited.  YUM.  This little bartender’s delight was clearly printed before Alcohol Awareness Programs were around.  It reminds me of my Army wife days when a Colonel actually used the words HAVE ONE FOR THE ROAD (1974)  I am serious.   Lots of Hawaiian Watering Holes mentioned in the book but I wonder how many are still in business.   

2 comments on “Drinks of Hawaii 1971 Recipe Book”

  1. Mark and Erika might get a kick out of it.

  2. Wow – how times have changed…. and in this case, I think for the better. 🙂

    Give the book to a used book store? I bet someone would find it fun…


Leave a Reply

